Open Letter to the Visionaries

This is an open letter to all the visionaries out there. I am a visionary but I have  found myself bogged down with issues lately that have occupied my time and mind in ways that are not productive or positive. I find myself witnessing arguments and incredible rudeness and ignorance on the social media networks. I have found myself attacked for the visions that I hold. I have been discouraged.  I believe that world peace is possible. I believe change is possible. But yet when I am told time and time again that my views are ridiculous and that change lies in things like legislation, I tend to get quiet. No one likes attack, especially just because their views are different than the mainstream.  I have found myself wanting to go live in a monastery or in a cave, wanting to get away from it all. I have never lived through a time where I have found myself having to simply defend who I am time and time again. I have pondered why this is.  All I can do is speculate that we really are in a time of changing frequencies (vibrations/consciousness) and there are those who are threatened by these changes. They desperately want to hold on to the old ways of doing and being. They will challenge you and tell you how stupid you are when you stand in your truth.  The whole thing of defending who I am has gotten exhausting and exasperating. I hear Spirit whisper to me that I should not have to “defend” but just stand in my truth and my light and those who want to leave my space can ~ or I can choose to leave their space.

I had a particularly bad run in with someone on Facebook who was a friend of someone close to me. I deleted him when he was rude to my friend. He responded with a nasty private message.  I told him that I could not allow people to be rude to my loved ones and to me.  I was kind and  I spoke my truth, (in what I thought), was integrity and kindness. The response was that I was accused of intolerance, rudeness and childishness. The exchanges continued and became more and more rude.  So I blocked this person from having any contact with me at all. He was toxic and venomous. This isn’t the first time this has happened in the past few months. It’s amazing to me  that when you ask for something simple like courtesy and respect, people actually get indignant and think it’s their “right” to treat you any way they see fit.  We can’t change other’s behavior but we can change our own. We don’t have to hang out on the playground with bullies.

So, today, just when I was ready to give up on things like Facebook, I see this tribute to  Badhi Singh Pandey, the woman who was gang raped and died in India. It is 600 guitarists coming together to play “Imagine” by John Lennon. I cried. Not only was it beyond beautiful (links are below) and absolutely amazing but it reminded me that there are so many visionaries out there, who are just like me. It reminded me not to give up. It reminds me that if enough of us come together, we can create change in a peaceful way. I was reminded not to let the bullies who want to hold on to the old  violent way  (violence doesn’t have to be physical but can be emotional and mental as well) of being discourage me because I speak of such things as peace, consciousness and compassion and respect and courtesy.  I am reminded that I am not crazy or intolerant because I don’t allow people to be rude to my loved ones. I am not crazy because I believe that peace is possible.  I am reminded that when I speak my truth with kindness and integrity and others interpret it as sarcasm and saccharine, then they are perceiving through their own lenses (and this isn’t my burden to take up). I know what my intentions are.  When we let other people, who are like the person I was talking about, get under our skin,  we allow them to rob us of our own inner peace and we become ineffective in the world around us.

To all those out there who know the power of collective consciousness to change the planet, please keep on keeping on. The world needs your light.  To the 600 guitarists who came together to play in tribute to  Badhi Singh Pandey, I applaud you and I send you love and I thank you; so many of us needed to see this and have this reminder.  Thank you from my heart to yours.  Let’s not give up, let’s not hide in a cave, even when we are called stupid time and time again.  Our light and love and vibrations create change. When enough of us come together, incredible things can happen. I know how hard it is and how discouraging it gets at times, (I’ve been there very recently)  but stay strong, let your light burn bright and let’s keep moving forward into this new era of love and peace. Keep your focus, keep radiating love, light, peace and compassion.

On a final note, I have to share this example. I was doing some work and had to enter a gated community. I had to speak to the guard and show him photo ID. He was a very heavy set African American man (just to give you a visual). He greeted me with such enthusiasm, as if I was an old friend that he recognized. He did his job (to verify my identity and call the person I was on my way to see) and he smiled the whole time, he was so kind and so happy . He radiated joy and love ~ for no reason whatsoever. He wished me a wonderful day and a happy new year and sent me on my way…..with a smile on my face. His happiness was infectious.  I was struck by what a rare occurrence this is  (sadly) and what the world would be like if more of us were like this man.  What a difference we could all make.

There is always something to do. There are hungry people to feed, naked people to clothe, sick people to comfort and make well. And while I don’t expect you to save the world,  I do think it’s not asking too much to for you to love those with whom you sleep, share the happiness of those you call friend, engage those among you who are visionary and remove  from your life those who offer you depression, despair and disrespect.” ~Nikki Giovanni  

“Dreamers are mocked as impractical. The truth is they are the most practical, as their innovations lead to progress and a better way of life for all of us.” -Robin S. Sharma 

“In order to survive as a race, as a planet, you must learn to share light. There is no other way.” -Joanna Gawn

“You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one.” – John Lennon 

Links for the Indian guitarist tribute:

http://imaginepeace.com/archives/19222

Namaste. Kathy Lee 1/9/2012

2 comments on “Open Letter to the Visionaries

  1. doc664 says:

    It is interesting to read this. I have noted before that I am not sure if it is a shift, or if it is that I simply notice it more now, but I see a trend of people feeling that they can behave however they want and the rest of the world simply must put up with it. I see it in day to day interactions not so much with people I know, but with the strangers in my life. At the store the people who cut in line, or take 20 items to the 10 items or less lane, who bump into you without a word of apology, who when you say excuse me ignore you. I see it in a news report about a lady who recently ran over a younger woman who was holding a parking space for her friend and felt justified in doing it. I see on the roads every day, people speeding up the lane and then pushing into the exit almost causing an accident at the last minute, cutting others off, running red lights, speeding through school zones, turning left from the far right lane, or stopping in the middle of the road and jamming up traffic so they can change lanes and make a turn because they were not paying attention.
    It is a depressing commentary that the story of the security guard at the end of this post is an anomaly. That when a person does their job in a friendly, helpful manner that we are taken by surprise. Too often we are faced with people who are rude to us despite the fact that we are nice to them. They just feel it is their right – as Kathy so aptly points out. But god forgive should we be rude to them, then we are satan incarnate. The double standard that exists within these people is incredibly depressing.
    My story today – in a week we are going to transfer my aunt from a rehab / nursing center back into assisted living. Her case worker called me today to verify the transfer and chat with me. I started asking her about what needed to be done in terms of rehab medical records, evaluations for the assisted living facility, transfers, etc. etc. etc. Her response was a warm and cheery “I will take care of all of that for you. You don’t need to worry.” I was overjoyed as the last time (a different facility) despite being asked, they did not take care of anything. I’ll be sending a letter when this is all over to commend her and the others who just in the course of doing their job, have been pleasant and helpful, because we need to recognize them, to let them know that we see it, appreciate it, and hope they continue it. And to let those who are not that way know, that that is the way to be.

    Peace,
    D

  2. Veronica Rawlinson says:

    Thankyou kathy you don’t know how much your post means as I have been going through similiar here and have felt like what is the point?? Lets keep going forward together….Namaste Vxxx

Leave a Reply

