Finding the Happy Place

I am having a hard time finding the happy place today. It’s really hard to find the focus right now and I was doing so well with it but I seem to have lost the groove.  Totally lost the groove.  I know how important it is to stay focused on what makes you happy. When we are focused on the things of higher vibration (love, joy, peace) we keep the channels within us open for  the Divine flow of energy (or Divine Intelligence, if you want to call it that)( which directs our lives and gives us inner peace) to flow through us. When we get into places or resistance (fear, anger, jealousy, lack) we block the flow of Higher energy.

Today I am struggling with the lack of human compassion for other human beings on the small scale and on the grand scale. The grand scale, at the moment, being the bombs that went off in Boston. Although just looking at the world in general, there are atrocities every day of the year in many, many places and I don’t minimize for a moment  the things that happen in other countries.  It’s hard to keep the faith sometimes, hard to feel hopeful. On the small scale, in my little life, I had to deal yesterday with an employer who has been operating from total and complete greed with absolute disregard for her employees and clients. I ended up with the very short end of the stick and lies and more lies.   Why does this surprise me? I don’t know. Seems if we’re living on this planet then we ought to be used to it by now. But it still blows my mind when I see other humans acting without conscience. Not to toot my own horn, but I think I was born with an overabundance of it. (Which, at times, can be problematic.)  I feel guilty if I can’t catch the lizard in the house and it ends up dying…. I’m quite sure I must have been Buddhist in my last lifetime. I feel respect for all beings, even insects. So it just boggles my mind beyond belief when human beings don’t display compassion for other human beings.

Then you go onto the social media and you find that people are adding hate to hate. It’s like adding more vinegar to the cake then wondering why it’s bitter, nasty  and hard to digest. Maybe this is how people grieve. Yes,  I feel angry. I feel anger at whoever blew up bombs in Boston. I feel anger at what’s taking place in my own little world, but spewing anger all over the place for not only myself but for others to wallow in and feed upon isn’t the answer.  I don’t want to be the one who feeds poison to others. I hope to be the one who is a candle in the darkness….even though I know sometimes I fail miserably.

We need to be aware and stand up to what is wrong  without going into that place of fear and hate. It’s really a hard balance. For those who are on the path that I follow, I guess no one ever said it would be easy.  I truly believe that what we put out comes back to us; some call that “karma”. So in the end, the balance will be restored in one way or another.  (That, from a true Libra.) But in the meantime, we have to take care of those who cannot care for themselves,  warn those who are not aware of the dangers and comfort those who are in despair. What many don’t realize is that we truly are interconnected. What affects one, affects us all.

So, I will do my best to do whatever I can do in a positive direction and focus on things that are uplifting. (Even if you look at the videos of the bombs exploding in Boston and feel good about all the people who rushed to help. ~ There are a lot of good human beings on the planet.) I will try not to add my own personal drama to the mess of energies already floating around the planet. (The cake does not need any more vinegar.)  I will try to expect and look for the good. And as I write this, inside my head, I hear the words of Yoda, “No! Try not. Do, or do not. There is no try.” and then, “To be Jedi is to face the truth, and choose. Give off light, or darkness, Padawan. Be a candle, or the night.” (Yoda) and one more…. “Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering.” (Yoda). That Yoda was a wise one……

Kathy Lee 4/16/2013

Leave a Reply

