Where is the Love?

Image

I’ve been feeling really distressed. I’ve been trying to pinpoint exactly why. (Besides the total obvious reasons.)  I was thinking about it today, and, I’ve been thinking about it for several days now.  I have been watching how people have found all kinds of reasons to justify the death of Trayvon Martin and acquittal George Zimmerman. I’ve watched how people have justified the incarceration of Marissa Alexander. (Look for links at the end of this blog for petitions and more information.) I’ve read all kinds of things from “Trayvon shouldn’t have been dressed like that.”  “What did he expect.” to “It’s our law and justice has been served.” “It’s two entirely different cases.” ….and I could go on and on and on. So, I think the Black Eyed Peas summed  up pretty well exactly what I am feeling: “People got me questioning, where is the love?” (Song and lyrics at end of blog.)

I’ve come to the conclusion that I must have come from another planet because this crap is making me nuts.  I have these crazy ass ideas that ALL people should have equal rights. I think every color, every shape, every gender, every religion, every sexual orientation should have EQUAL rights. Pretty simple. Pretty basic. Maybe I have TOO MUCH compassion. Is that possible? I think kids should be able to safely walk down the street. I think women shouldn’t be beaten by… ..well, ….anyone. And for that matter, that no one should be beaten by anyone. Ever.  Are my ideas really all that ‘out there’?

And, yeah, I get that this is the world we live in. I get that violence does occur. Quite often. I get that there is  bad stuff happening every where, every day. All over the world. But does this mean we get to detach? Does it mean it’s OK to find ways to justify things that are totally, absolutely NOT OK? Does it mean that we sit silently and accept a system that isn’t working? (And by “system” I mean global. Not just here in the USA.)

oneplanet

I’m thankful for the people who have voiced outrage over the death of a 17 year old boy. I am thankful that I am not the only one who sees it like I do. Trayvon and Marissa are only the tip of the iceberg. Maybe it’s time that we wake up. (Maybe this IS our wake up call!)  Maybe it’s time that we start speaking out in order to create change. Maybe it’s time we start in our tiny little part of the world and volunteer or do something that might have an impact on ONE LIFE, that might make one tiny part of the world a better place.

I have watched many arguments go on and on without seeing one ounce of compassion for the victims.  I can’t stop being appalled by what I see. (And therefore, I can’t shut up.)

Perhaps, maybe, we live in a society that has so dehumanized us that it’s difficult for us to feel compassion? So many movies, TV shows, video games that treat violence as such a common, acceptable occurrence. Or could it be that we dehumanize people to make ourselves feel better? So that we don’t have to feel? So that we don’t have to speak up? So that we don’t have to face unpleasant truths?  So that we can stay happily sedated in our little bubble world?

Until it happens to someone we know.

Please stop justifying. Please stop making excuses. We need to make changes. CHANGES. NOT MORE EXCUSES.  I think Uri Anderson summed it up best when he said this: “It’s time for people to shut up about the technicalities of the law. George Zimmerman killed someone and walked free. This woman fired a warning shot and got 20 years. If you don’t see the injustice and insanity in that, you need help.” 

 So. I realized what is pissing me off. There are people who seem to have more compassion for puppies and kittens than for human beings. (DO NOT get me wrong. I am a total advocate for animal rights. Just ask anyone who tries to harm the ducks that live outside my house.) And this is hard for me to accept. Very, very, very, very hard for me to accept. (And if you don’t believe me, test it. Put a post on a social media site with puppies or kittens and watch the response you get as opposed to a post of something about human rights and suffering.)

I long for the day where we ALL can have as much compassion for each other (human beings!!) as we do for the puppies and kittens that need homes. Compassion without conditions. Compassion for our fellow human beings REGARDLESS of their appearance, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, size or intelligence quota……. just COMPASSION, plain and simple.

Image

The Merriam-Webster definition of compassion is this: sympathetic consciousness of another’s distress together with a desire to alleviate it. 

Maybe this is part of our spiritual awakening. I believe that there is a Divine Intelligence at work (whatever you choose to call it). I really do.  I also believe we are having a mass spiritual awakening. But I will also be the first to admit that some days it is hard for me to keep the faith. I’d like to see people get as fervent about human rights (all human rights, not just the ones that pertain to YOU) as they are about animal rights. We can celebrate the day that the people that we inhabit the planet with are just as important as the puppy dogs and kitty cats.

Kathy Lee 6/17/2013

www. tigerlilysgarden. com

((At the end of my last blog “Why I Care: Trayvon Martin” you can find links to petitions for him.))

Where is the Love? Black Eyed Peas http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpYeekQkAdc

https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/complete-exoneration-marissa-d-alexander-all-charges/SnZMRKyC

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-201_162-57433184/fla-mom-gets-20-years-for-firing-warning-shots/  (Marissa Alexander story)

http://petitions.moveon.org/sign/free-marissa-alexander-1

http://www.thepetitionsite.com/503/600/056/dont-imprison-marissa-alexander-for-standing-her-ground/

http://www.change.org/petitions/free-marissa-alexander

https://www.facebook.com/SupportForMarissaAlexander

Lyrics: Where is the Love? Black Eyed Peas

“Where Is The Love?”

What’s wrong with the world, mama
People livin’ like they ain’t got no mamas
I think the whole world addicted to the drama
Only attracted to things that’ll bring you traumaOverseas, yeah, we try to stop terrorism
But we still got terrorists here livin’
In the USA, the big CIA
The Bloods and The Crips and the KKK

But if you only have love for your own race
Then you only leave space to discriminate
And to discriminate only generates hate
And when you hate then you’re bound to get irate, yeah

Madness is what you demonstrate
And that’s exactly how anger works and operates
Man, you gotta have love just to set it straight
Take control of your mind and meditate
Let your soul gravitate to the love, y’all, y’all

People killin’, people dyin’
Children hurt and you hear them cryin’
Can you practise what you preach
And would you turn the other cheek

Father, Father, Father help us
Send some guidance from above
‘Cause people got me, got me questionin’
Where is the love (Love)

Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love, the love, the love

It just ain’t the same, old ways have changed
New days are strange, is the world insane?
If love and peace are so strong
Why are there pieces of love that don’t belong?

Nations droppin’ bombs
Chemical gasses fillin’ lungs of little ones
With ongoin’ sufferin’ as the youth die young
So ask yourself is the lovin’ really gone

So I could ask myself really what is goin’ wrong
In this world that we livin’ in people keep on givin’ in
Makin’ wrong decisions, only visions of them dividends
Not respectin’ each other, deny thy brother
A war is goin’ on but the reason’s undercover

The truth is kept secret, it’s swept under the rug
If you never know truth then you never know love
Where’s the love, y’all, come on (I don’t know)
Where’s the truth, y’all, come on (I don’t know)
Where’s the love, y’all

People killin’, people dyin’
Children hurt and you hear them cryin’
Can you practise what you preach
And would you turn the other cheek

Father, Father, Father help us
Send some guidance from above
‘Cause people got me, got me questionin’
Where is the love (Love)

Where is the love (The love)?
Where is the love (The love)?
Where is the love (The love)?
Where is the love (The love)?
Where is the love (The love)?
Where is the love (The love)?
Where is the love, the love, the love?

I feel the weight of the world on my shoulder
As I’m gettin’ older, y’all, people gets colder
Most of us only care about money makin’
Selfishness got us followin’ the wrong direction

Wrong information always shown by the media
Negative images is the main criteria
Infecting the young minds faster than bacteria
Kids wanna act like what they see in the cinema

Yo’, whatever happened to the values of humanity
Whatever happened to the fairness and equality
Instead of spreading love we’re spreading animosity
Lack of understanding, leading us away from unity

That’s the reason why sometimes I’m feelin’ under
That’s the reason why sometimes I’m feelin’ down
There’s no wonder why sometimes I’m feelin’ under
Gotta keep my faith alive ’til love is found
Now ask yourself

Where is the love?
Where is the love?
Where is the love?
Where is the love?

Father, Father, Father, help us
Send some guidance from above
‘Cause people got me, got me questionin’
Where is the love?

Sing with me y’all:
One world, one world (We only got)
One world, one world (That’s all we got)
One world, one world
And something’s wrong with it (Yeah)
Something’s wrong with it (Yeah)
Something’s wrong with the wo-wo-world, yeah
We only got
(One world, one world)
That’s all we got
(One world, one world)

2 comments on “Where is the Love?

  1. […] Where is the Love? Good question, Tigerlily. […]

  2. rookseh says:

    Keep seeing a lot of parallel posts… Thanks for writing this one. Compassion – oh, yes.
    http://rookavrook.wordpress.com/2013/07/17/human-oppression/

Leave a Reply

