Leaping into the Great Unknown

Image

The day finally arrives when you realize you aren’t getting any younger and life is passing you by and you aren’t really “living” but  just “surviving”. I have accepted (finally) that I really am “middle aged” and that half my life has already passed. I don’t want to get to the end of my life to find out that I never really lived because I was afraid to make a change, to take a risk or to follow my heart. Even if I were to try and I fail, at least I could say I tried. (And that very statement alone shows us how afraid we really are to leave the familiarity of the known.)

We sometimes get so stuck in the “familiar” and the “known” that we feel secure there even if it is not our bliss, not where our hearts are and sometimes where  we are even miserably unhappy.  But we look at making a massive change and all the “what ifs” pop up. What if I am not happy? What if it fails? What if it’s a terrible mistake? What if? We think of every possible thing that could go wrong.

Well, what if we said,

What if it’s wonderful and I am deliriously happy? What if it’s the life I always dreamed of?

What about that?

There are people I have observed, year after year, stuck in a cycle of endless repetition and misery. I can’t see their joy. I can’t see any possibilities. I can’t see any hope in their futures. Henry David Thoreau said, “Most men live quiet lives of desperation and go to their graves with their songs still unsung.” That quote has been running around inside my head a lot lately. I don’t want to go to my grave (in this lifetime) with my song unsung.

I want to follow my bliss, I want to do what makes me happy, I want to shout from the mountain top, I want to sing my song. I want to live my passion.  A life of quiet drudgery, misery, survival and desperation…….no, no, no, that’s not what it’s about. That’s not what we are here for.

Recently, the Universe gave me a boot in my ass. (As the Universe sometimes does.) I chose to end a relationship  which was not healthy for me, and, in the process, many people who I thought were “friends” left my life. Of course, this was their right and their choice to choose sides (and they didn’t choose me), which again, was OK because I learned who my friends really are. I learned who really respects my choices and my needs, which, when it comes down to it, is a good thing to know. So it’s all good, it really is, but as lessons sometimes are, this one was painful at first until I could see the bigger picture.  But at any rate, I lost what was my entire local spiritual community.  At first I was mortified then I realized that I don’t need people who really don’t care about me in the first place and I certainly don’t need this brand of “spirituality”. Then the other realization slowly dawned on me that I no longer belong with this group of people. I have outgrown them and  the Universe had chosen a not so subtle way of moving me along from a group I’d been involved with for 12 years. (Which is what happens when you go through life with your heels stubbornly dug into the ground…..)

Time to move on.

Time for the new.

Time for expansion.

Time for new possibilities.

It’s time to expand to broader possibilities, time to reach outside the “comfort zone”, time to drop the fears associated with making BIG changes.  It’s time to go for the dreams that have been brewing inside me for so long. It’s time for us all to start manifesting our hearts desire. We are entering the new paradigm and with it comes big dreams, manifestation, and the “true” versions of ourselves.  Don’t let fear of the unknown block you.

 Image

Deepak Chopra says it’s so beautifully and powerfully in his book “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success” His words really speak to me and are a powerful reminder every time I get stuck in the familiar grip of the “known”.

“The search for security is an illusion. In ancient wisdom traditions, the solution to this whole dilemma lies in the wisdom of insecurity , or the wisdom of uncertainty.  This means that the search for security and certainty is actually an attachment to the known. And what’s the known? The known is our past. The known is nothing other than the prison of past conditioning.  There’s no evolution in that—absolutely none at all.  And when there is no evolution, there is stagnation, entropy, disorder and decay.

 

Uncertainty, on the other hand, is the fertile ground of pure creativity and freedom. Uncertainty means stepping into the unknown in every moment of our existence.  The unknown is the field of all probabilities, ever fresh, ever new, always open to the creation of new manifestations. Without uncertainty and the unknown, life is just the state repetition of outworn memories.  You become the victim of your past, and your tormentor today is your self, left over from yesterday. 

 

Relinquish your attachment to the known, step into the unknown, and you will step into the field of all possibilities.  ….. When you experience uncertainty you are on the right path—so don’t give it up.  You don’t need to have a complete and rigid idea of what you’ll be doing next week or next year , because if you have a very clear idea of what’s going to happen and you get rigidly attached to it, then you shut out a whole range of possibilities.

 

You still have the intention of going in a certain direction, you still have a goal. However, between point A and point B there are infinite possibilities.  With uncertainty factored in, you might change direction in any moment if you find a higher ideal or if you find something more exciting. 

 

The Law of Detachment accelerates the whole process of evolution. When you understand this law, you don’t feel compelled to force solutions.  When you force solutions on problems, you only create new problems.  But when you put your attention on the uncertainty, and you witness the uncertainty while you expectantly wait for the solution to emerge out of the chaos and the confusion, then what emerges is something very fabulous and exciting.”

        ~Deepak Chopra “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success” (pages 86-89)

So, here’s to breaking free of the past, of the “known” and making the leap into the great unknown where all possibilities exist.  Here’s to freedom.

                  Kathy Lee 9/23/2013         www. Tigerlilysgarden. Com 

2 comments on “Leaping into the Great Unknown

  1. Greg says:

    Nice…..thanks Kathy I am borrowing this!

  2. Lori says:

    Thank you, Kathy. Needed to hear this…

Leave a Reply

